Daily Archives: July 26, 2013

Looking Out My Back Door – July 26, 2013

A couple of days ago as I stood in the kitchen, I saw a shadow and some movement by the kitchen door.  A took a couple of steps to see toward the bottom part of the door, and there, looking back at me was a gray cat.  It was standing on its hind legs peering in the kitchen and when it saw me, it turned and ran.  It looked wise and definitely not young. 

Yesterday morning, the birds were making a racket…a sure sign that some intruder was out there.  I stepped out onto the back stoop and the wren swooped over to the pear tree and pretty much pointed to where the intruder was.

So I stood there and called “here kitty, kitty”…. for several minutes and out of the tall phlox popped the gray cat!

Tall Phlox

Tall Phlox

She ran over to me and rubbed up against me and basically stayed on the stoop all day, trying to sneak in whenever the door was opened.greek 031-35

I gave her a bowl of water but she looked hungry to me.  I had some cans of cat food left over from the cats I had previously (the last of which died a couple of years ago).  I opened one can of Fancy Feast and put half of it in a bowl and she devoured it!  I gave her the other half and she devoured that.  I sat on the stoop and she climbed in my lap.

Hard to Tell Which End is Up

Hard to Tell Which End is Up

And we spent a good deal of the day together on the stoop.  I looked through her fur and didn’t see any signs of fleas.  Looked in her ears and didn’t see any mites.  She looked oldish to me…but maybe she wasn’t too old to be pregnant.  So many unknowns.

But night began to fall and the rain had started.  What to do…  Well, luckily I still had cat litter and I had a litter box, so I brought it up to my bedroom and brought the cat in and we spent a relatively peaceful night together, sleeping side my side.  And she did use the litterbox!  Hurrah!

It was still raining the next morning and I brought her into the den and closed the french doors to contain her in the room.  The photo up above is her sound asleep on the chaise.  Looks pretty content, no?

I  don’t know what her past is or what brought her here. And I don’t know what the future holds for us.  Time will tell.

Lavender Blue Rose of Sharon

Lavender Blue Rose of Sharon

The phlox, black-eyed-Susans and daylilies are still doing their thing…but the Rose of Sharon are especially spectacular this year.  They seem to be blooming together in twos and threes and each individual bloom is larger than the norm.

White Rose of Sharon

White Rose of Sharon

Pink Rose of Sharon

Pink Rose of Sharon

My beloved Morning Glory continues to grow and bush out, but no flowers yet.

My Beloved Morning Glory

My Beloved Morning Glory

And last but not least, my scarlet runner beans have begun to blossom:

Crimson Runner Bean Flowers

Crimson Runner Bean Flowers

And that’s the way it is, July 26, 2013.