Ice Cream Update

In my last post I mentioned the no churn strawberry ice cream I had made with just 2 cups of heavy cream and a 14 oz. can of sweetened condensed milk (plus the strawberries, of course).  Since then, I’ve wasted no time and have tried two more flavors…limoncello (or lemoncello) and pumpkin.  They were both incredibly easy to make and delicious.wpid-20150715_105217-1.jpg

The lemoncello, as my label reads, had been in my freezer for many years.  You can see the frost on the bottle in the photo above.  I always intended to do something with it (like maybe DRINK it) but never did.  Completely out of character for me.  So now here I had a good reason to crack open that bottle:  ICE CREAM!  So I whipped the cream until stiff peaks formed.  Then I added the condensed milk, 1/4 cup of lemoncello and grated rind from one lemon.  I mixed that again briefly until well combined.  I had to taste it, of course, to check if it needed more lemoncello or grated lemon.  It had a nice subtle lemon flavor.  If I added more lemoncello, it might not freeze due to the alcohol content.  So I placed it in a freezer proof container and placed it in the freezer.  I checked it after 6 hourse and the middle was a little soft.  So I left it in there 2 hours longer and it was perfect. wpid-20150715_111144.jpg

And if you want more lemon flavor, you can always drizzle a little of that lemoncello over the top!

The pumpking ice crea idea actually was prompted by my cat, Graycie.  Every now and then I mix a little canned pumpkin (good for her bowels) with her Fancy Feast.  It appears that it was time for her pumpkin dose a couple days ago.  And once that can of pumpkin is open, then either I use it for something else (how much can a little kitty eat) or I end up throwing it out.  And I hate throwing food out.  So I made pumpkin ice cream.  I worried that it wouldn’t be sweet enough as I was planning to add about a half can of pumpkin (not pie filling, pureed pumpkin) and I thought that the pumpkin would dilute the sweetness of the condensed milk.  So I also added a nip (small 50ml bottle) of Amaretto.  I also added about 1 teaspoon of cinnamon and about 1/2 teaspoon of allspice.  It was magnificent!  Heaven.  Thank you, Graycie! wpid-20150721_102208.jpg

And I made a really good spicy shrimp and black-eyed pea salad plate that is worth mentioning.  I mixed a drained can of black-eyed peas with some chopped celery, scallion, diced carrot and radish.  I added a small crushed clove of garlic, a teaspoon or so of Dijon mustard, a little salt and cayenne, a splash of olive oil and freshly squeezed lemon juice.  Sorry, I just eyeball everything…don’t measure…so you’ll have to adjust to taste.  I refrigerated that for a few hours.  I rinsed and peeled fresh shrimp and patted them dry.  Then I combined them with a mixture of paprika, salt, garlic powder, onion powder, cayenne pepper, oregano and thyme.  Saute them in a little oil in a hot skillet for a few minutes on both sides.  Don’t overcook!  Put some greens on a plate along with cherry tomatoes, avocado, cucumber, whatever you want. Then spoon some of the black-eyed pea salad on that and top with the shrimp.  Serve with a wedge of lemon and some fresh basil on top.  Delicious. wpid-20150721_172934.jpg

And following are some photos of flowers in my yard: wpid-20150721_074602-1.jpg

wpid-20150714_160634-1.jpg

wpid-20150714_160538.jpg

wpid-20150721_074352-1.jpg wpid-20150721_074435-1.jpg

That’s it for now.  Oh, and guess what I found out…snakes like to live in those huge mounds of cut bittersweet vine!  Be warned!                                                                         

2 thoughts on “Ice Cream Update

  1. KerryCan

    Your kitchen and garden are never boring! Snakes in the bittersweet?! Eek! I’m going to try your ice cream. I do have a little high-tech ice cream maker but yours sounds so easy and a recent pantry purge revealed a crazy number of cans of sweetened condensed milk. I’m thinking the lemoncello . . .

    Reply

Leave a Reply

