Beyond Bittersweet

If you read yesterday’s post about my battle with bittersweet, I didn’t want to leave you with the impression that my days are filled with nothing else but  whacking away at invasive vines.  There are others things, too.  Things like stacking wood.  My big old Japenese cherry tree has slowly been dying over the past year and I had to have it taken down.  An area had to be cleaned and prepared to stack the cherry wood:

image

The wood is stacked on a carpet of small stones:

image

Close to my newly stacked wood pile is feverfew.  It comes up every year in the same spot.  I didn’t plant it, it just appeared like a lot of other plants in my yard.

image

The daylilies are abundant this year.  The dark mahogany blooms are striking in the morning sun.

image

The orange varieties are close by:

image

As are the golden hued:

image

And although I hate to use that “I” word again (invasive), the invasive goose neck loosestrife is in bloom.  I have to admit it is attractive:

image

And, in the kitchen I made churn free ice cream.  When did they come up with this idea?  Martha Stewart and Nigella Lawson knew about it before I did ( I must have been preoccuped with bittersweet). It’s 2 cups of heavy cream, whipped, to which you add one 14 oz. can of  sweetened condensed milk.  If you Google this you’ll find many different recipes (flavors and add ins).  And the Borden Eagle Brand label has a recipe on the back…mine had Butter Pecan.  But I made strawberry as strawberries were on sale.  I added 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract and 2 cups of quartered strawberries to the mixer along with the whipped cream and condensed milk.  Then you freeze this mixture for at least 6 hours.  The end result was good but the strawberries froze really solid, too solid.  If I make this again, I’ll cut the strawberries in smaller pieces and mash them some before I add them.  I saw a recipe for coffee I think I’ll try…instant espresso powder and coffee liqueur.  And how about banana or limoncello? Or……

2 thoughts on “Beyond Bittersweet

Leave a Reply

