Memorial Day 2015

One of the main reasons I make entries into this blog is to keep track of what is happening, or not happening, in the yard from year to year.

For example, the male hummingbird showed up around May 2nd this year.  I looked at prior posts and found that he arrived on May 1st last year.  These are things I like to know…

The reawakening of trees, shrubs and flowers in the spring never ceases to amaze me.  The flowing shrubs have, or are, doing their thing as per Mother Nature’s schedule.

Quince

Quince

Pale Pink Rhododendron

Pale Pink Rhododendron

Hot Pink Rhodondendron

Hot Pink Rhodondendron

Bridal Wreath Spirea

Bridal Wreath Spirea

White Azalea

White Azalea

Again this year, we are in a moderate drought situation.  It is extremely warm  dry out there and although I splurge filling up the birdbaths, I don’t dare water the flowers or lawn. 

Lavender Blue Iris

Lavender Blue Iris

Dark Burgundy Iris

Dark Burgundy Iris

I think it’s a good thing that my perennials all run into each other in a kind of English Garden sort of way and are not separated little mounds of this or that.  The way they are growing, close together, provides some shade to the soil and moisture retention.

Lily of the Valley

Lily of the Valley

The lily of the valley, wild phlox and cranesbill are thick and thriving.  They spread into the lawn.  Trying to maintain them in some sort of order is a losing battle.

Wild Phlox

Wild Phlox

After the cranesbill have finished blooming, I mow down the ones that have snuck a little too far into the lawn.

Cranesbill Geranium

Cranesbill Geranium

Flowers are nice, but it’s the foliage that I’m wild about.  Color, shape and texture are so important. 

Huechera

Huechera

The new growth on the dwarf Japanese green maple is light yellow with a touch of pink.
Japanese Maple

Japanese Maple

The varigated hostas provide bright accents.

White Varigated Hosta

White Varigated Hosta

Yellow Varigated Hosta

Yellow Varigated Hosta

And my beloved silvery blue giant hosta is getting bigger day by day.  I have to admit that I do give it some water every now and then.  But that’s the only one that is pampered.

My Veloved Giant Hosta

My Beloved Giant Hosta

I hope we get some rain soon….

One thought on “Memorial Day 2015

  1. KerryCan

    What a beautiful yard you must have! I love many of the same plants–the hostas, the heucheras–but mine haven’t filled in yet. The dark red iris is FABULOUS! I have some (in purple if you can imagine!) but I’ll need to go looking for the burgundy. It is interesting to look back at past posts and see the way seasonal cycles are reflected.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

