Coconut Flour Pancakes

In her blog post this morning, KerryCan ( https://lovethosehandsathome.com ) mentioned the Sanger’s Sugar House annual pancake breakfast.  It must have been the phrase “slathering on the maple syrup” that got me.  I was craving pancakes.  I had to have them now!  I had some good Vermont maple syrup but I didn’t have a grain free recipe.  I started to search the internet and found a coconut flour pancake recipe that looked promising at http://www.nourishingdays.com … but then I realized I didn’t have milk on hand.  So forget about the pancakes.  But then I remembered I had some heavy cream and I had plain yogurt.  Maybe I could substitute the cup of milk with the cream and yogurt.  I had about 2/3 cup of cream and added a little yogurt to make a cup.  What the heck, I’d give it a try.

I proceeded to make the pancakes.  The batter was relatively thick.  Yet the original recipe warned that they were tricky to turn over, and strongly suggested to make them on the small side, which I did.  They were a little gritty in texture but not bad in flavor. 

My version of this recipe follows:

Batter Up!

Batter Up!

COCONUT FLOUR PANCAKES

1/2 cup coconut flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
4 large eggs
2/3 cup heavy cream
1/3 cup plain yogurt
1 tablespoon honey
2 teaspoon vanilla extract

Preheat skillet over low heat.  Whisk dry ingredients in large bowl.  In smaller bowl whisk eggs until frothy.  Add cream, yogurt, honey and vanilla and blend well.  Add to dry ingredients and whisk well.  Grease the skillet with butter, oil or a combo of both.  Drop small amounts of batter (like silver dollar pancake sizes) into the pan and cook for a couple of minutes.  You won’t see the batter bubble up like you do with normal pancake batter.  You will see the pancakes puff up slightly, however.  Carefully check under one to see if they are brown.  They cook quickly, so don’t let them burn.  Adjust heat if needed. Flip over to other side and cook for another couple of minutes or so until brown,

In the skillet....

In the skillet….

Out of the skillet....

Out of the skillet….

They really soak up the maple syrup.

Onto the plate...

Onto the plate…

I’ll continue to experiment with other grain free pancake recipes and let you know if I find a new improved version.

Satisfaction!

Satisfaction!

But for now my pancake and maple syrup craving has been satiated.

One thought on “Coconut Flour Pancakes

  1. KerryCan

    It’s like you’re learning to cook all over again! I’d never even heard of coconut flour until you got going! I’m glad you found a vehicle for the maple syrup!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

