Grain Free Recipes the Family Loves

In my last post I mentioned I went grain free at the beginning of the year.  I’ve been experimenting with new recipes and all kinds of heretofor unknown (to me) grain free flours.  But the real test as to my grain free culinery skills was Easter.  I was the official maker of the polinina…the Easter meatloaf…that my family loves.  My son-in-law, Dave, is absolutely crazy about it.  Could I make a grain free version that duplicated that taste and consistency of the original?

A year or so ago I posted the original recipe to this blog.  And that recipe had Italian flavored breadcrumbs.  I decided I would replace the Italian breadcrumbs with a combination of golden flaxmeal, coconut flour, parmesean cheese, oregano and basil.  I needed to tweek my test polinina a bit, but I finally came up with a recipe that I was happy with.  It looked like polinina should, smelled exactly like it should and tasted just like it.

Grain Free Polinina

Grain Free Polinina

This is the recipe for a 1 pound polinina:

GRAIN FREE POLININA

1 lb.  ground pork
2 Tbs. parmesean cheese
1/4 cup flaxmeal
1/3 cup coconut flour
5 eggs
1 Tbs. olive oil
1 1/2 tsp. salt
3 large cloves garlic, minced or thru press
1/4 cup chopped free flat leaf parsley, finally chopped
1 tsp. dried oregano
1 tsp. dried basil

Preheat oven to 425.  Grease pan, line with parchment paper and grease top of parchment too.  I used a pyrex pie plate to bake this in. 

Mix all ingredients well with hands.  The coconut flour is very fine in texture and really needs to be well mixed with the rest of the ingredients.  I added the olive oil as the  coconut flour tends to soak up moisture and the original test polinina was a little dry.  The olive oil and the 5 eggs provided the necessary moisture.  Pat the mixture into a round loaf in the prepared pan and bake for 50 – 60 minutes.  Let cook a bit and remove from pan and peel off the parchment paper. 

This meatloaf can be served warm, and it certainly is delicious that way.  For Easter brunch, however, it is served cold, cut in cubes.  (It makes great meatloaf sandwiches, too!).

Easter Meatloaf 2015

Easter Meatloaf 2015

And Dave loved it!  He said he couldn’t tell any difference from the original recipe.  What a relief!

I also make a grain free chocolate cake for Easter.  I love this cake…dark and chocolately and so easy to make!  The recipe makes one 8 inch square cake, which I cut in half and covered with peanut butter frosting.

COCONUT FLOUR CHOCOLATE CAKE

6 Tbs. unsalted butter
1/2 cup cocoa powder
3/4 cup sugar
1/2 tsp. salt
6 large eggs
1/2 cup coconut flour
1 tsp. baking powder

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Grease an 8 inch pan.  Melt the butter with the cocoa powder.  Add the sugar, salt and eggs to the butter mixture and combine well.  Whisk the coconut flour and baking powder together and add to the wet mixture and blend well.  Pour into the prepared pan and let it rest for about 10 minutes before putting into the oven.  The coconut flour is absorbing some of the moisture during this time.  Bake for about 30 minutes (test with toothpick) and remove from oven.  Let it sit in the pan for about 30 minutes before you remove it from the pan.

When it was completely cool, I used a long serrated knife to cut it in half and then filled and frosted it with peanut butter icing.  I made this with one stick of unsalted butter, softened, 1 cup of peanut butter, 1 teaspoon vanilla and about 2 cups or so of confectioner’s sugar (add more until it  reaches the consistency you’re looking for).  I grated a little dark chocolate on the top.

Sometimes I just add a few raisins and chopped walnuts to this cake (maybe sprinkle some small chocolate chips on the top) before I bake it and skip the frosting.  It’s like a giant Chunky bar.

Peanut Butter Frosted Coconut Flour Chocolate Cake

Peanut Butter Frosted Coconut Flour Chocolate Cake

Everyone loved this cake, including Dave.  I knew my recipes were a hit when Dave mentioned that everyone should feel free to take some leftovers home…everthing but the polinina and the chocolate cake because they were his!  Only kidding.

My daughter, Christine, made divine asparagus.  She combined it with lots of minced garlic and olive oil and then topped it with parmesean cheese and roasted it at 450 degrees for about 20 minutes or until cheese is melted and just starting to brown.

Roasted Asparagus

Roasted Asparagus

Christine’s spinach salad was delightful, too.  The addition of sweet fresh stawberries and tangerine segments tossed with poppy seed dressing was marvelous…very spring like!

Christine's Spinach Salad

Christine’s Spinach Salad

Oh, and in case you are wondering what kind of grain free bread I’m eating my leftover polinina sandwiches on…here it is:

Grain Free Bread

Grain Free Bread

This recipe came from a wonderful website:  http://elanaspantry.com/paleo-bread/

 

 

2 thoughts on “Grain Free Recipes the Family Loves

  1. KerryCan

    It looks like a fabulous meal! You’ve really learned a lot, so quickly, about grain-free cooking–and I guess you feel it’s making a huge difference in your health, right? I feel like gluten is my favorite food group . . .

    Reply
  2. queenofsienna Post author

    Yes, I do feel better. My arthritic shoulder is not as painful and I’ve lost about 15 pounds!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

