Looking Out My Back Door – July 27, 2014

It looks like my gray fox family was only vacationing here for the raspberry festival.  The raspberries are all gone and so are the foxes.  And I think I saw them leaving.  Several mornings ago I saw mother and young ones crossing the lawn and heading toward the barn.  I also saw another gray fox running with what looked liked a paper bag in his mouth and he was heading in the opposite direction.  He was running so fast, it was hard for me to get a good look, but I believe it was a white paper bag.

I read that male and female gray foxes mate for life.  When it comes to actually raising the baby foxes, that’s the female’s job.  But the male fox does help with feeding.  It looked to me like he brought some Egg MacMuffins or perhaps Dunkin Donuts in the bag for breakfast that morning.  She told him she was heading across the road and up into the woods as the raspberries here were all gone.  He told her he’d catch up with her later.  She went her way with the kids and he went his with the breakfast leftovers in the bag.  At least that’s how I think it went. 

Goose Neck Loosestrife As Far as the Eye Can See

Goose Neck Loosestrife As Far as the Eye Can See…Well, Almost

The butterflies love the loosestrife.  Once they have finished blooming, I’ll have to deadhead them and thin them out some and try to contain them, otherwise they will just keep spreading and spreading and spreading and I’ll be awash in a sea of loosestrife. 

Giant Hosta Flowers

Giant Hosta Flowers

The giant blue angel hosta flowers were spectacular this year.  The flowers were as tall as I am.

Looking Through the Veronicastrum

Looking Through the Veronicastrum

And the veronicastrum (a/k/a Culver’s Root) is taller than I am. 

Dark Pink Rose of Sharon

Dark Pink Rose of Sharon

The rose of sharon flowers come in all different shades.

Lavender Blue Rose of Sharon

Lavender Blue Rose of Sharon

But the flowers are not as large as they were last year.

Light Pink Rose of Sharon

Light Pink Rose of Sharon

I love Queen Anne’s Lace.  The flower and the leaves are so graceful.

Queen Anne's Lace

Queen Anne’s Lace

I was trying to get a close-up of the dark red flowers in the center (symbolic of Queen Anne’s blood after she pricked her finger with the needle while working on her lace) and when I looked at the picture I realized there were beetles on it which I didn’t notice when I took the photo.  The center of this flower looks more black than red to me. 

I’ve got a lot of beetles this year, chewing up everything.  Even the leaves of my pole beans.  I try to pick them off, but it’s not helping much.  Robins, cardinals and catbirds eat beetles…so they must be having a feast here. 

Can You Find the Beetles?

Can You Find the Beetles?

Some of the Queen Anne’s Lace are over 5 feet tall.  I took the photo below looking up through the flower.

Heads Up

Heads Up

The USDA includes Queen Anne’s Lace in their list of “noxious weed”.  Hey, if it weren’t for those noxious weeds, I wouldn’t have any flowers in my yard!  I’ve read that if you cut Queen Anne’s Lace and put it in colored water, the flower head will turn the color of the water similar to a carnation.  I think I’ll try putting a little beet juice in some water and see if the Queen Anne’s Lace turns pink.

Invasive Noxious Weed?

Invasive Noxious Weed?

And that’s the way it is, July 27, 2014.

One thought on “Looking Out My Back Door – July 27, 2014

  1. KerryCan

    There’s a lot of pretty going on in your garden, even without the foxes to add interest. I think it’s so neat you had the experience of having them there. I never realized how much the blossom of a Rose of Sharon looks like a hollyhock bloom–I wonder if they’re related. I hope you’ll do a follow-up post if your experiment in dying the Queen Anne’s lace works out!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

