Cravings

I’ve sure we’ve all experienced food cravings from time to time.  Even “I Love Lucy” craved sardines and chocolate sauce on ice cream when she was pregnant…remember Ricky looking at her with a bilious look as she devoured her concoction? 

I remember my sister, Mary, craving yellow turnips, commonly known as rhutabagas, one evening many years ago.  I mean she was really craving them…had to have them…was going out of her mind with desire.  So my brother, Stephen, got in his car,  went to the store and brought back a brown paper bag full of turnips.  Now it’s no easy task to prepare and cook fresh rutabaga turnips.  You have to peel them, dice them (they are very hard and we used a heavy knife which we would hit the back of the blade with a hammer to chop through them) and then boil them.  All of this takes time.  It was getting later and later into the night, but Mary had to have her turnips before she went to bed.  Once they were cooked, we drained them, mashed them added some butter and that was that.  She was happy and all was well. 

Oh, did I mention that our toy fox terrier, Tinker Bell, also loved raw turnips?  She would jump up and down while we chopped them, begging for a piece or two of raw turnip. 

Mary also craved tuna salad at times…said she must be experiencing a mercury deficiency.  I, myself, have craved tomato sauce on occasion…which might be a magnesium deficiency.  Your body is telling you when you are lacking in some mineral and it’s a wise person who listens to what their body is saying.

So the other day I was craving chocolate.  I mean really craving chocolate.  And when you are really craving something, you cannot deny it.  That craving will not go away until it is satisfied.  I had no chocolate in the house.  All of the delightful chocolate from KerryCan’s Etsy shop had been eaten and enjoyed and she was not making more until the weather turned cooler. 

I looked through the refrigerator to make sure there was nothing chocolate squirreled away somewhere.  And low and behold there was a jar of Smuckers Special Recipe Dark Chocolate Topping.  Now what?  I guess I could have just dipped a spoon in the jar and that would have been that.  But now my creative side was pushing me to do something with that topping.  But what?  Okay, I had unsalted chunky peanut butter and granola with nuts and raisins.  Sounded like an appetizing combination.   

Smucker's Chocolate Topping

Smucker’s Chocolate Topping

So I took about a third cup of granola and combined that with about two tablespoons of chocolate topping and two tablespoons of peanut butter.  I rolled it into balls about the size of a quarter and then coated them with a very light dusting of cocoa.  And they weren’t bad!  They took care of my craving, that’s for sure.  And they might have even been better if I refrigerated them for an hour or two.  But when you have a craving, you have a craving, and an hour or two seems like eternity.

Unsalted Peanut Butter

Unsalted Peanut Butter

 

Granola
Granola

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

These little chocolate granola balls don’t look too appetizing, but they did the trick!

Chocolate Peanut Butter Granola Bars!

Chocolate Peanut Butter Granola Bars!

So now for garden news…the iris continue to bloom.  All of the orchid color are finished blooming and replacing them are very pale blue, almost silvery color, iris with a touch of lavender.

Pale Blue Iris

Pale Blue Iris

And the burgendy iris which my sister Anne moved from one spot in the garden to another location years ago are blooming this year after a long hiatus.

Burgundy Iris

Burgundy Iris

The climbing hydrangea on the side of the house is blooming.  I think I created a monster with this hydrangea.  I planted it myself after I saw an outbuilding at a nursery in Vermont covered with this gorgeous climber.  The hydrangea had grown up the side of that building and was crawling across the roof.  I thought the shiny green leaves and large white flowers were spectacular.  What a wonderful “cottage” look…I wanted to replicate that at my house.  But be careful what you ask for…this hydrangea has covered the entire side wall of the house and is now at the roof line. It has done exactly what I wanted.  But it will have to be maintained somehow…I can’t just let it crawl across the roof. 

Climbing Hydrangea

Climbing Hydrangea

And for those of you out there craving more peony photos…here’s another:

And Yet Another Peony

And Yet Another Peony

And the pink roses by the back door just continue to bloom, and bloom, and bloom…

More Roses

More Roses

Right now I think I’m craving a second cup of coffee…excuse me…

 

2 thoughts on “Cravings

  1. KerryCan

    What a fun post! Was your sister pregnant when she had the rutabaga craving? That’s a very, very, very odd craving. Your flower photos are glorious00I am especially intrigued by the climbing hydrangea–we have one and it has been sort of creeping along, growing slowly, no flowers yet. I don’t know how we’ll manage, if it takes off like yours has! And, regarding the chocolate craving–my mother feels your pain–she’s out of the spicy bark, too! Your solution sounds very inventive.

    Reply
    1. queenofsienna Post author

      No, my sister was not pregnant when she had the rhutabaga craving…but our entire family, including the dog, was extremely fond of yellow turnips so we didn’t really think much of her craving.

      It took several years for my climbing hydrangea to settle in and take off. I’m amazed at how well it is doing now.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

