Looking Out My Back Door – June 8, 2014

There are new blooms almost every day at this time of year.

Orchid Colored Iris

Orchid Colored Iris

My yellow tree peony traditionally blooms just after the red tree peony and this year was no different.

Yellow Tree Peony

Yellow Tree Peony

The fire-thorn a/k/a pyracantha was trimmed back earlier this year and it is now covered with blooms. 

Pyracantha Blossoms

Pyracantha Blossoms

The rhododendrons on the other side of the house are now in bloom.

Rhododendron

Rhododendron

All of the iris are doing especially well.  The one below is darker than it shows in this photo…it is really more like a tanzanite color (my favorite gemstone).

Purple Iris

Purple Iris

The fleabane is flourishing as well.  I know, some people would consider them weeds, but I just love the miniscule little petals, if you can call them petals, they’re more like a fringe of sorts.

Fleabane

Fleabane

The pink roses near the back door are covered in blossoms and the first one to open was very low to the ground…it was so heavy, it had to rest on the pachysandra.

First Pink Rose

First Pink Rose

More irises…

Lavender and White Iris

Lavender and White Iris

The driveway is lined with white cranesbill geranium:

Cranesbill Geranium

Cranesbill Geranium

The mountain laurel behind the cranesbill is competely covered with flowers:

Mountain Laurel

Mountain Laurel

The first herbaceous peony to blossom is this pale pink beauty:

Pale Pink Herbaceous Peony

Pale Pink Herbaceous Peony

And the foxglove does its own thing…appearing here and there, moving around from year to year.  This one near the foundation of the house.  I took most of these photos very early yesterday morning.  I find early morning light and late afternoon into evening light the best for photos.  That’s the shadow of my head and my tablet (which I use as a camera) to the right side in this picture.

Foxglove

Foxglove

Most of the perennials (all pictured here) where on this property when I bought this house.  I don’t try to manage them or place them in contrived settings.  I did try to move some iris many years ago, and that didn’t work out too well.  So now I just let them all do their own thing, coming and going as they wish.  It’s always a surprise for me to see them appear each year.

5 thoughts on “Looking Out My Back Door – June 8, 2014

  1. KerryCan

    You have the most beautiful plants! I love this time of year, when something happens every day. And, guess what! I bought some irises at a garage sale yesterday . . . and they’re purple!! Are you proud of me?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

