Guacamole Pasta

I think I’ve said it before, but what the heck, I’ll say it again.  I hate to throw food out.  If there is something that is approaching its expiration date, I’ll come up with some sort of recipe to use it in.

A couple of posts ago I mentioned that I made heuvos rancheros and sprinkled some of that hot sauce on it that I got at the herb fair. 

Huevos Rancheros

Huevos Rancheros

The problem was, those 6 inch corn tortillas that I used in the heuvos rancheros only come in packages of 24 or more.  I tried using them in other recipes but without success.  For me, the best thing to do with them is very lightly brush them with olive oil, cut them into quarters and bake in a hot (like 400 degree) oven for 10 minutes or so.  Then I lightly sprinkle with garlic salt and voila, I’ve got homemade corn chips which are pretty darn good.

The other day I was browsing the past prime produce section of my local grocery store and saw some avocados that were perfect and ready for use, not those hard as a rock avocados that you have to wait several days to use.  These “past prime” avocados were 50 cents each as compared to the regular avocados which were on sale at $1.66 each.

Perfectly Beautiful Avocados

Perfectly Beautiful Avocados

So I put together guacamole using a couple of those avocados, scallion, tomato, parsley, garlic, olive oil, lemon juice and cayenne pepper.  That and those homemade corn chips… perfection!

Then, I had some sour cream left over from the heuvos rancheros which had to be used up.  Crimini mushrooms were on sale, so I made some mushroom stroganoff and served it on brown rice.  Another winner!

But, I still had one avocado to use.  Like now.  It was perfect today but it wouldn’t be tomorrow.  I didn’t have lemon and I didn’t have fresh tomatoes so I couldn’t make guacamole.  I did have a can of DelMonte diced tomatoes with zesty jalapeno peppers and that has some white vinegar in it (which I figured would replace the lemon).  And I did have spaghetti. 

The thought of combining avocado and pasta never occurred to me before.  But I was determined to use that avocado.  I had a tiny bit of the mushroom stroganoff sauce left over as well.  So I cooked the spaghetti al dente and drained it.  Then I sauteed a large minced clove of garlic in olive oil and added 1/2 a can of the DelMonte tomatoes.  Once that was warmed, I incorporated the little bit of stroganoff sauce.  I added the drained spaghetti and once that was warmed and combined with the tomatoes, I threw on the chopped scallion, parsley, and avocado and very quickly tossed it and served it.  It was delicious!

Guacamole Spaghetti

Guacamole Spaghetti

I will make this again, sans the stoganoff sauce of course (unless I just happen to have it on hand), and I’m sure it will be excellent.  I might even add some shrimp and a squirt of fresh lemon.  Who would have thought, avocado and spaghetti?

But now I have to think of a way to use that half can of DelMonte diced tomatoes.  (Does this ever end????) A cold front is coming through tonight.  Maybe I’ll make vegetable soup tomorrow. 

 

One thought on “Guacamole Pasta

  1. KerryCan

    You come up with the most inventive combinations–your frugal nature serves you well! It does make sense that creamy avocado would be very nice with pasta–maybe you’ll start a new craze!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

