Looking Out My Back Door – April 16, 2014

Over the past week or so the weather had been delightful and I’ve had the opportunity to get outside and start the old spring cleanup.  It has been encouraging to see signs of life peaking out from underneath the leaves considering that long, miserable winter that we had. Yesterday we had steady rain all day and I swear I could see the grass getting greener and greener as the day progressed.  The rain continued into the night and a cold front blew in at the tail end of the storm.  This is what greeted me in this morning’s early light:

Pachysandra

Pachysandra

Scilla

Scilla

Quite a contrast from the photos taken just a few days earlier:

Yellow Crocus

Yellow Crocus

Amazing Color Combo Produced by Mother Nature

Amazing Color Combo Produced by Mother Nature

Andromeda

Pieris

Glory of the Snow

Glory of the Snow

Daffodil

Daffodil

Ribbons of Pink in Early Morning Sky

Ribbons of Pink in Early Morning Sky

Looking back at my posts from a year ago, I see I was somewhat obsessed with hummingbirds at this time in April.  I already had the feeder up and I was on the watch for them.  It’s funny, but yesterday’s storm blew up from the south and I was wondering if some hummingbirds would be blown up.  I kept thinking I saw “something” flying by my kitchen window.  Perhaps it was only a leaf or two. But maybe I should put up a feeder just in case.

2 thoughts on “Looking Out My Back Door – April 16, 2014

  1. KerryCan

    I read this yesterday, while I was standing at the stove, tempering chocolate. I had a reply all composed in my head and just realized I never actually wrote it! Has your spring returned at this point? I imagine so–even we are getting up to 50-ish today. I hope the hummingbirds didn’t freeze their little tushes off!

    Reply
  2. queenofsienna Post author

    It’s in the 50s here today too. I hung a hummingbird feeder yesterday morning but haven’t had any customers yet…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

