Looking Out My Back Door – April 1, 2014

Three days ago I saw the old woolly bear heading off across the courtyard away from the house.wpid-20140329_090407-1.jpg

Perhaps he had survived the winter with its snow, ice and frigid temperatures that accompanied the Polar Vortex by burrowing close to the foundation of the house.  I don’t know how he managed to hang in there, but he certainly didn’t look any worse for wear.  He was moving along at a good clip (for a woolly bear) and was lost from sight in no time at all.  Where he was going and what his plans might be are a mystery to me.

We had pouring rain on Sunday and early morning on Monday (March 31st) a cold front went through and that rain turned to snow.wpid-20140331_071347.jpg

We ended up with over two inches of snow within a relatively short period of time.  The snowdrops had already emerged from under the frozen mounds of snow that had edged my driveway and now they were again surrounded by the freshly fallen snow.wpid-20140331_134505.jpg

I had hoped to be able to walk around the property by now to see if anything showed signs of life…any little sprouts that would indicate that spring really was here.  But the ground had been covered by a layer of frozen snow and then the rain made everything really soggy so I haven’t had a chance to get out there and explore.  The fresh layer of snow should be gone by the end of the day today as the temperature is supposed to reach the mid 50s and the forecast predicts much of the same for the next few days.

So that’s the news outside my kitchen…. Inside my kitchen I’ve been preparing dishes with kale and / or spinach lately.  Green leafy vegetables have an abundance of lutein and zeaxanthin, nutrients essential for eye health, which may decrease the incidence of cataracts and age related macular degeneration.  wpid-20140401_053840.jpgI spotted baby kale in the supermarket the other day.  Notice that the label indicates that it is an excellent source of vitamins A, C and K.  I’ve been mixing this in with my salad greens and love the way it tastes.

Lentil Burgers With Buttermilk Dressing on a Bed of Baby Kale and Assorted Veggies

Lentil Burgers With Buttermilk Dressing on a Bed of Baby Kale and Assorted Veggies

Last night I made a cod and tomato combo and served it on a bed of steamed garlicy spinach.  Yum…I wish there were some left over so I could have it for lunch but it’s all gone!

Kalamata Olives, Lemon and Scallions

Kalamata Olives, Lemon and Scallions

I chopped up a couple of carrots and steamed them for a few minutes, drained them and set them aside.  Then I sauteed some chopped onion and garlic for a minute or two, added sliced celery and asparagus and tossed in some chick peas.  I added the carrots to the pan, poured on a can of chopped tomatoes with jalapenos and placed the cod on top.  This took about 12 minutes to cook, covered, over low-medium heat.  I broke the code filets into smaller bite size pieces, added some kalamata olives, drizzled a little olive oil over it, sprinkled some cayenne pepper and a little salt over it and served it on garlicky steamed spinach.  A touch of fresh lemon juice over the top and wow! 

Spicy Cod Over Garlic Spinach

Spicy Cod Over Garlic Spinach

Like I said, I wish there were leftovers.

One thought on “Looking Out My Back Door – April 1, 2014

  1. KerryCan

    I think that woolly bear has a lot of nerve! Showing his furry face after lying about the winter?! It’s a good thing he’s cute . . . Your yard looks a lot like ours, except we had leftover snow banks before that most recent snow came through. We’re having a week of mid-40s so I’m optimistic. And I’m impressed how healthy you’re eating!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

