That Old Beaver Moon

About a week ago I heard one of the local meteorologists mention the “Old Beaver Moon” could be seen on November 17th.  That name intrigued me, so I looked it up on the internet and found that in addition to “Old Beaver Moon” it’s also known as just the “Beaver Moon”, “Full Beaver Moon” and “Frost Moon”.  Supposedly this time in November is when the Indians set their beaver traps to ensure that they would have pelts with which to keep warm over the winter months.

I decided I’d keep my eyes open for that Beaver Moon.  It was around dusk on Tuesday, November 12th that I first spotted it.

Tuesday, 11-12-13, Reflection in Rain Barrel

Tuesday, 11-12-13, Reflection in Rain Barrel

I snapped a photo of its reflection in the rain barrel on Tuesday and hoped to take a similar photo on Wednesday.  However the temperature dropped dramatically over night Tuesday and there was ice on the water Wednesday.

Wednesday, 11-13-13, Reflection Off Ice

Wednesday, 11-13-13, Reflection Off Ice

There were clouds around dusk on Thursday and I could only catch momentary glimpses of the moon.

Thursday, 11-14-13

Thursday, 11-14-13

It was hazy Friday…

Friday, 11-15-13

Friday, 11-15-13

Saturday was an absolutely beautiful day, relatively warm and the sky perfectly clear.  I spotted the moon through the kitchen window as it just came up over the horizon.

Saturday, 11-16-13, Low on the Horizon

Saturday, 11-16-13, Low on the Horizon

As the moon moved up higher in the sky, I caught its reflection on a picture hanging on the side of the cupboard by the window.

Saturday, 11-16-13, Reflection on Glass

Saturday, 11-16-13, Reflection on Glass

As it got higher still a little later, it was brilliant.

Saturday, 11-16-13, Brillant

Saturday, 11-16-13, Brillant

And remember I said it got dramatically cold over night on Tuesday?  How cold was it?  This cold:

Leaves Frozen in Ice

Leaves Frozen in Ice

Wednesday morning I discovered that there was a pot out by the barn that had water in it and froze.  It had warmed up just enough for the entire piece of ice to slide out of the pot:

Frozen Pot Form

Frozen Pot Form

Circle of Ice

Circle of Ice

It is Sunday Morning, November 17th as I write this.  The sky is overcast and it should be raining later this afternoon.  I don’t expect to get a glimpse of the moon today.  But I am glad this I did see the Old Beaver Moon this week.

One thought on “That Old Beaver Moon

  1. KerryCan

    This is a new one on me! I never heard of the Beaver Moon before and I love these old bits of folklore. The pictures are really neat–the first one is especially amazing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

