Cat, Corn, Clethra…In That Order

Can’t help it…love alliteration, thus this title.  But this post is about the cat, corn and clethra, in that order.

My last two posts mentioned the gray cat who showed up at my back door…which I took in and then a few days later ended up at the vet’s with an extremely high temperature.

Graycie

Graycie

When we showed up for the first appointment at the vet’s, I needed to provide a name for her and I had been toying with the name Graycie, as she was a female gray cat.  So that is the name she was given when admitted to the hospital.  She had an extremely high temperature and she came home with me so that I could give her antibiotics and Pedialyte (to try to keep her hydrated).  I brought her back to the vet the next day as I saw no improvement and she stayed at the animal hospital the next three nights.  Finally her temperature was back down to normal and she was eating some and drinking water.  And she really, really seemed to like the vet.  I think she would have been happy staying there with him.

As I write this, I’ve had her home for two days and have been giving her antibiotics.  She is eating some and drinking some.  She is not grooming herself.  Today I heard her cough a few times, sneeze several times and her right eye seemed to run a bit.  I think I’m over doing it with watching her.  But I can’t help it. 

Yesterday I gave her a little catnip filled pillow that one of my other cats had loved, and she tossed it around and rubbed her head on it and acted like a normal cat with catnip.  A good sign.

This morning she was laying on the chaise and the cool morning air was coming through the window.  I covered her with a little blanket.  Something in that blanket stimulated her to get up and start kneading the blanket with her two front paws.  She seemed almost in a trance and kept kneading that blanket for several minutes.  I had seen my other cats do this and it made me feel better…again, normal behavior.

She’ll be going back to the vet this week so he can monitor her.  What is disturbing is that we don’t know the cause of the fever.  Is there an underlying chronic problem?  And what’s with the cough and sneeze?  We’ll just have to watch and wait.

So the next “C” is corn. 

Fresh Local Corn

Fresh Local Corn

Early August is time for local corn in New England.  I made corn fritters today.  The great thing about these corn fritters is that they are mostly corn and little fritter batter.

Corn Fritter Batter

Corn Fritter Batter

Corn Fritters

2 large ears or corn, husks and silk removed
1 large egg
3 tablespoons all purpose flour
3 tablespoons cornmeal
2 tablespoons heavy cream
1/4 cup minced onion
1/2 teaspoon salt
pinch of cayenne pepper
vegetable oil

Cut kernels from corn and stir in rest of ingredients.  Cover bottom of large pan (I use a cast iron skillet) and heat  over medium high heat until shimmering.  Drop tablespoons of batter in pan.

Fritters in Skillet

Fritters in Skillet

Fry until golden brown, about 1 to 2 minutes each side.  Drain on paper towels and serve immediately.

Corn Fritters Right of the Pan

Corn Fritters Right of the Pan

I bought a couple extra ears of corn and tomorrow I’ll make a corn chowder with them and the left over heavy cream.  I’ll add onion, yellow pepper, a Yukon gold potato, a small tomato and some celery.  I could also add some crabmeat, or clams or oysters…

And now the last “C”.  The clethra is in bloom.

Clethra

Clethra

Clethra is a white flowered, extremely fragrant shrub.  It seems to keep mosquitos away; and that, along with the heavenly fragrance makes it perfect for growing along side the patio.  I can even sit out there in the evening, enjoying the fragrance and not getting bit!  The dark green leaves in the background of the photo above are the climbing hydrangea growing up the side of the house.

And that’s the way it is, August 4, 2013.

 

One thought on “Cat, Corn, Clethra…In That Order

Leave a Reply

