Looking Out My Back Door – July 13, 2013

This summer continues to be wet, hot and humid.  Yesterday the dew point got down into the mid 60s and the temperature was in the mid 80s and it looked like it was the day to mow the lawn as it hadn’t been mowed in over a week.  Good thing I did it yesterday, as we’ve had rain already this morning.  The humidity and heat will be back tomorrow and it looks like it will stay for at least another week. 

I took the opportunity to bake some bran muffins this morning as it has been too hot to even think of turning on the oven.  When it’s so hot, I hardly ever even turn on the stove except to boil water for my morning coffee…have to have my morning coffee!!!!

Rose of Sharon

Rose of Sharon

The rose of sharon shrubs have started to bloom this week.  I’ve got them in various shades, pale pink, orchid, lavender, deep pink and white.  They do grow like weeds but they add a nice splash of color to the yard.

Phlox

Phlox

And the phlox are just starting to bloom in shades of white, pale pink, hot pink and magenta.

Bee Balm

Bee Balm

The bee balm is growing like crazy this year.  I tried to get a photo yesterday afternoon and the bees were all over it…couldn’t get that close.  I went out early this morning to grab the shot above.  It doesn’t appear that all of the flowers have that green pod in the center full of seeds and that’s why I chose this blossom for a close-up.

Blackberries

Blackberries

The blackberries and raspberries have fruit now and the birds and chipmunks (the few that I’ve seen this year) must be very happy.  I’ve mentioned that raspberries grow all over the place and it is very difficult to keep them out of the flower beds.  But I let them do their own thing in various other sections of the property as I know what an important food source they are for the birds.  If a bird were alert enought, they would see the bug on the leaf above the berries in this photo.  They could have some protein and then have fruit for desert!

St. John's Wort

St. John’s Wort

I’ve got a couple different varieties of St. John’s Wort…the one shown above is Chinese, I believe.  It is gorgeous, isn’t it?  Leslie Gordon in “A Country Herbal” states:

“The house that had St. John’s wort hung above the door was safe from thunder, lightening and fire; and neither witches nor the devil himself could cross the threshold.  With St. John’s wort tied to the cradle, no child could be taken for a changeling.” 

Ponder on that for a while….

Vetch (Sativa)

Vetch (Sativa)

I didn’t use that “i” word yet in this post, “invasive”, but I did border on it when I mentioned the raspberries growing all over the place.  Well, vetch, is an invasive vine…but isn’t it attractive?  Aren’t those pale lavender pink flowers darling?  Or so I think at the moment.  I even cut a bouquet and brought it into the house.

Vetch Close-Up in Vase

Vetch Close-Up in Vase

Yarrow

Yarrow

And talk about invasive!  The yarrow growing out back behind the barn is growing in a luscious green bed of poison ivy.  It’s a shame I’m sensitive to it as the shiny, dark green leaves are so attractive.

Daylilies

Daylilies

And the daylilies are still blooming like mad.

Daylily

Daylily

The pale yellow daylily shown above is one of the few perennials that I’ve planted in this yard.  Of all the photos of flowers that I’ve included in my various posts this daylily, the veronicastrum and the huge hosta are the only perennials that I’ve purchased and planted here.  All the others were growing on this property when I moved in and some have just popped up along the way (they call these plants that just appear out of no where “volunteers”). 

And that’s the way it is, July 13, 2013.

Leave a Reply

