Looking Out My Back Door – June 28, 2013

Well, summer is here.  The hot and humid weather has settled in for several days now and it’s in the forecast for the foreseable future.  I can take the heat, but that humidity is a killer!  It’s been rainy too.  The sun will be out one minute and then we’ll have a tropical downpour the next…I’m talking over and over, day after day.

But it could be worse!  I’m not complaining!  I remember one summer it was dry as a bone.  The lawn had turned brown and crunched to walk on.  Even the rhododendron leaves had shrivelled.  I lost several large, established shrubs that year because of the drought. 

So water them, you say?  I’m on a well.  I didn’t waste a drop of water for my own use within the house, never mind water the lawn, shrubs and flowers.  I even took my clothes to the laundromat that summer.  It was awful.  I did, however, fill the birdbaths with water because the birds were in desperate need of it.

So, now, here we are with lots of heat, humidity and water.  The roses seem to be enjoying it thus far.

Morning Sun on New Dawn Rose
Morning Sun on New Dawn Rose
Shrub Rose
Shrub Rose
White New Dawn Rose
White New Dawn Rose

The astilbe is popping up in shades of pink and white here and there.

Astilbe
Astilbe

The traditional summer blooming daylilies (as opposed to the spring varieties) are just about to kick in.  You can see the buds ready to pop with a few of them already beginning.

Summer Daylily
Summer Daylily

And the Black-Eyed Susans are gorgeous!

Black-Eyed Susan
Black-Eyed Susan

The flowers on the oak leaf hydrangea have grown and are turning white and look marvelous over a sea of yellow sundrop flowers.

Oak Leaf Hydrangea and Sundrops
Oak Leaf Hydrangea and Sundrops

And the flowers on my giant hosta continue to grow.  The veronicastrum (Culver’s Root) next to it is over 6 feet tall now and you’ll see photos of that in another post.

Giant Hosta
Giant Hosta

So the flora seems to be florishing in the heat and humidity.  My pole beans are doing very nicely too!

And the titmouse is now a frequent visitor to the hummingbird feeders!  It’s weird to look out the window and see those big black eyes staring back in at me as he sucks it down.  The hummers don’t seem to mind…but the refills sure have to be made a lot more often!

P.S.  I finished this post at night and just looked out the kitchen door…the fireflies, or lightening bugs as we used to call them, are flashing their little lights like crazy out there!

Leave a Reply

