The Large and the Small of It

Sometimes I think it might be interesting to just have a few, maybe a half dozen or so, huge, interesting plants in a garden bed and forget about all those smaller varieties that kind of get lost in the shuffle.

Hosta

Hosta

The hosta shown above being case in point.  When I bought it several years ago, I knew it was supposed to get large…but this gorgeous blue green hosta is now about 4 feet across.  The flowers are just starting to peek up from under those enormous leaves.  Honestly, I wouldn’t mind having a garden full of hostas.  There are so many gorgeous varieties and this one is a beauty.

Maidenhair Fern

Maidenhair Fern

The maidenhair fern shown above was here when I bought the property and it has grown over the years.  It, too, is easily 4 feet in diameter.  And, while I’m on the subject of ferns, I want to show you the “Ghost Lady Fern” that is next to this Maidenhair.  I bought the “Ghost Lady” at the same time I bought the huge hosta.  “Ghost Lady”…yes, that is the real name of the fern, is not huge but it is beautiful and it has a whitish glow to it…almost spectral.

"Ghost Lady"

“Ghost Lady”

And, of course, if you’ve read my other posts, you’ve seen that Veronicastrum Culver’s Root that will grow at least 7 feet tall up through the rustic twig obelisk.  It’s well on its way now and photos will be provided a little later.

Now, lets move to the small of it.

Albino Spider on Purple Iris

Albino Spider on Purple Iris

Maybe the spider shown above is the “Ghost Lady” spider.  I just happened to see it one morning and was so glad I was able to catch a photo.  He was a little shy and ran under the  petal right after I snapped the shot.

Maple Seed on Rock

Maple Seed on Rock

The bright green of this maple seed or pod or whatever it’s called just stood out against the dark interesting texture of the rock beneath it.  The chipmunks love to eat these seeds and lucky for me I saw this one first!

Bluets in the Woods

Bluets in the Woods

These tiny pale blue flowers are called “Bluets”.  They come out a little later than all my other blue wildflowers and can easily be overlooked in the woods because they are so small.  That’s a tiny baby holly tree in the upper right hand corner of the photo.  Things you can easily miss!

Oxalis

Oxalis

The oxalis looks huge in this photo but really the flower is about 3/8ths of an inch in diameter if that.

Ant Hill

Ant Hill

This ant hill was so perfect, I had to take a photo.  I didn’t see any ants around that morning so they must have all headed off to the job…where that might be, I have no idea.  Or maybe they were sleeping late that morning….

Pole Beans!

Pole Beans!

And last but not least, the pole beans are starting to come up!  I’m doing a little dance of joy…can you see me?

Leave a Reply

