The Week in Pictures – June 1, 2013

Much has been happening this last week of May.  Flowers and shrubs are abounding with flowers and scents.  Although the tree peonies were first to flower, the herbaceous peonies are now starting.

Herbaceous Peonies

Herbaceous Peonies

One entire side of the driveway is lined with lovely white cranesbill flowers and attractive bright green foliage.

Cranesbill Geranium

Cranesbill Geranium

 The mountain laurel just beyond the cranesbill is also starting to bloom.

Mountain Laurel

Mountain Laurel

In the bed across from the goldenrod colored daylilies, bright yellow daylilies are flowering.

Daylilies

Daylilies

More iris are beginning to add color to the landscape.

Yellow Iris

Yellow Iris

This yellow variety is across from the patio and is doing extremely well this year.  And a gorgeous purple iris is blooming near the yellow daylilies.  There are others yet to open and I look forward to their flowering with anticipation (as I can’t remember what colors they are).

See, this blog will help me next year when I can compare what is blooming and when against what what has transpired in the garden this year.

The lamb’s ears are doing well, too!  I just have to bend over and gently touch those leaves whenever I’m in that section of the garden.  So soft…so nice.  And the light green / grey color adds life, texture and variety into a garden that is, for the most part, green!

Lamb's Ears

Lamb’s Ears

The several pyracantha, commonly known as firethorn, are loaded with blooms and bees!  Their fragrance is a little peculiar, maybe not a favorite of some, but I like it!  Those are purple wild phlox nestling up against the firethorn in the photo below.

Firethorn / Pyracantha

Firethorn / Pyracantha

The blue star is in bloom and looks great against the dark leaves of the Purple Smoke Bush.

Blue Star Amsonia

Blue Star Amsonia

The pink rose bushes that are to the right of my back door as I look out are in bloom, too.  When they first open, they are a deep pink and turn a lighter pink as they fully open.

Pink Roses

Pink Roses

And I know you can’t make it out, but trust me, the following is a photo of a blue bunting!

Blue Bunting

Blue Bunting

I was standing in the kitchen, staring out the kitchen window (as I am in the habit of doing) and a flash of bright blue zoomed by.  Fortunately, that blue flash sat down on the branch of a tree for several minutes and I was able to snap some photos through the window.  Blue buntings show up here just about every year around this time, but only for a very short while.  The female bunting, brown and not spectacularly gorgeous like her husband, was here as well.

And the red breasted grosbeak showed up the same day!  Such excitement!  Again, the male is a stunner with his black upper parts, white belly and bright rosy red spot on his breast.  The female…brown.  Why is it that some males are naturally good-looking and the poor female is drab?  No wonder those cosmetic companies are making a ton of money.

And, since I’m talking birds here, I’ve had to put up a second hummingbird feeder as there were big hummer fights going on.  I mean serious altercations!  And the ants found those feeders.  Those industrious little ants climbed up the side of the house, across the eave, up onto the gutter and then down the wire holding the feeder.  Well, although I greatly admire their work ethic, I couldn’t possibly let them interfere with the feeding of my little birds.  I read that rubbing cooking oil along the length of the wire will keep them away.  And guess what?  It works!  After I coated the wire with oil, I stood there and watched.  One brave little ant started down the wire, got about 1/3 of the way down, stopped, turned around and went back up.  He must have told his fellow ants that the oil was vile stuff.  Haven’t seen an ant even attempt it in several days now.

And, last, but not least, the pole beans are planted!  Yes, I can hear the thundrous applause and I am taking a bow…

Pole Beans

Pole Beans

Look at the size of those scarlet runner beans!  They must produce one heck of a bean!  Notice the packet says “flowers edible”?  Well, they do warn you on the back that if you eat all the flowers, you won’t get any beans.  Good thing they explained that…I’m sure some people wouldn’t be able to figure that out.

And that’s all the news for now.

Leave a Reply

