Cabbage

A savoy cabbage leaf is a work of art….

Savoy Cabbage

Savoy Cabbage

Sometimes I crave sauerkraut…I mean really, really crave it.  Have to have it.  It’s comforting to know that it is good for you!

Following was taken from the Natural News website:

“Sauerkraut combines the health benefits offered by all cruciferous vegetables (a category which includes cauliflowers and brussel sprouts as well as cabbage) with the probiotic advantages derived from the fermentation process.

“Cabbage offers a host of health benefits. It is high in vitamins A and C. Studies have shown the cruciferous vegetables can help lower cholesterol levels. Cabbage also provides a rich source of phytonutrient antioxidants. In addition, it has anti-inflammatory properties, and some studies indicate it may help combat some cancers. However, this already helpful vegetable becomes a superfood when it is pickled.”

Learn more: http://www.naturalnews.com/033659_sauerkraut_health_benefits.html#ixzz2UmYhDNdZ

Even if I wasn’t particularly craving sauerkraut, I always enjoyed my mother’s Hulke (which are pork and rice meatballs cooked in a mix of fresh cabbage and sauerkraut).  This is her recipe, exactly as written:

Hulke (about 17 meatballs)

1 1/3 cups white rice boiled – cooled
2 large onions, chopped and sauteed in a little oil – cool
2 lbs ground lean chopped pork
2 teaspoons salt
3 eggs

Mix well in 8 qt. dutch oven.  Make fist size meatballs and place on dish for now.  Do not wash pot.

1 firm head cabbage – about size of honeydew melon, chopped coarsely
2 large cans sauerkraut
caraway seed
Into dutch oven place any clean outer cabbage leaves on bottom – also small pieces of root end of onion you might discard.  Now sprinkle a light layer of chopped cabbage and top with 1/3 of sauerkraut (2/3 of can).  Layer meatballs – about 8 or 9 – and repeat with chopped fresh cabbage and sauerkraut and caraway.  Make another layer of meatballs again, 8 or 9 and now top with final layer of fresh cabbage and sauerkraut and lite sprinkle of caraway.  Add water to only about 1 inch below meatballs.  Bring to  boil, covered – and then let simmer with cover ajar for 1 hr. and 20 minutes.  Enjoy.

Note:  In making rice, I heat oil (a little) with garlic salt (do not burn) – add rice, stir to coat.  Add water, hot if possible, about 2 1/2 cups.  Cover and cook on low 10 minutes.

Okay, I’m back, this is me and no longer my mother’s recipe… Today, if I crave sauerkraut, I saute some chopped onion and a small chopped tomato in a little olive oil.  When just soft, I add shredded cabbage (and I usually use savoy cabbage as it is more tender than regular cabbage).  I cover the pan and let it cook on low heat until the cabbage is wilted.  I sprinkle a little sugar on the cooked cabbage, add a can of sauerkraut, stir, cover and continue to cook for a bit.  Then I add a dollop of butter, stir and melt, cover and cook a little longer.   Sometimes I serve this with what I call “make believe hotdogs”….which are soy dogs like the “Smart Dog” or “Tofu Pup” brands.

My mother also used to make little potato dumplings combined with sauteed cabbage and onions in butter.  Loved this!  A somewhat similar combination is my sauerkraut/savoy cabbage recipe above tossed with potato gnocchi (store bought).  Very satisfying. 

Gnocchi With Sauerkraut

Gnocchi With Sauerkraut

Occasionally, my mother made a kind of sweet sour red cabbage that was also delicious.  Again, this is her exact recipe:

Red Cabbage

1 onion, minced – saute in oil
1 melon size head red cabbage, shredded.  Add to onion.
2 1/2 cups apple joice – or a couple of apples, cut up.

Saute – slowly covered.  Stir and be sure there is enough liquid.  If more liquid is needed, add water.  When soft, add 1 teaspoon of salt and 1 tablespoon of cider vinegar.

Me again…when I make this, I usually add a little more vinegar and maybe a tad more salt.

Red Cabbage

Red Cabbage

One of my favorite recipes was my mother’s cabbage and tomatoes.  I haven’t made this in a while and I don’t have a photo, but this is a marvelous recipe. 

Cabbage & Tomatoes

1 chopped onion sauteed in bacon fat or oil
Add chopped cabbage and cook until coated
Add 1 14 and 1/2 oz can tomato sauce, Delmonte
Add 1 14 and 1/2 oz can stewed tomatoes, Delmonte

Break tomatoes into smaller pieces.  Let saute gently for about an hour.  No salt added because tomatoes are salted.  Serve hot with crisp bacon pieces on top.

And my mother’s coleslaw recipe was always a family favorite.  It is:

Shred 1 honeydew size head of cabbage and mince about 1/4 cup of white onion.

In a container mix about 3 tablespoons apple cider vinegar, 1 tablespoon canola oil, 3 tablespoons mayonnaise, 1/2 teaspoon salt, 1 teaspoon celery seed.

Mix well.  Pour over shredded cabbage and onion (you can add carrot if you want).

Me again…I sometimes add a bit of minced red pepper.

Coleslaw

Coleslaw

Tasty and good for you too!  Can’t beat that!

Leave a Reply

