New Dawn

New Dawn Rose in my Parents' Yard

New Dawn Rose in my Parents’ Yard

My childhood was spent in a beautiful yard. There was a stone patio behind the house with steps down to a sunken garden which was framed by perennial flower beds on four sides, rose covered trellises at either end and a birdbath in the center.  A pear tree shaded the picnic area where the big stone fireplace and grill stood.  Two large vegetable gardens were planted with all sorts of vegetables each year…corn, tomatoes, squash, beans, kholarabi and more.  A gravel path lined with rose bushes on either side brought you to the grape arbor.  The main entrance to the brick patio under the grape arbor was framed with the “New Dawn” climbing rose on a trellis.  You can see the profusion of blooms on this rose in the photo above.  That’s my niece, Laurie, standing in front of the arbor. 

My New "New Dawn"

My New “New Dawn”

“New Dawn” is  a blush pink climber that was introduced and patented in 1930 by Henry Dreer.  It is a repeat bloomer which is supposedly disease resist.  I remember this rose blooming all summer long when I was a child.  It’s now time for me to try a “New Dawn” of my own.

I have a dark green metal trellis that arches between two large yews on either side of the path that leads to the barn.  I’ve been contemplating planting some vine or climbing shrub at the base…why not try the “New Dawn”.

But, even though this rose is a well known classic climber, just try to find it!  I starting calling around my local nurseries, and none had it.  As I worked farther out, town by town, I did finally find a garden center that had both the “New Dawn” and the “White Dawn” variation as well.  I hopped in the car and picked up one of both.  I have absolutely no idea what  I’m going to do with the white rose…but I’ll figure something out (I hope)! 

Wire Vine

Wire Vine

On my way back, I stopped by a local nursery and picked up a couple “Wire Vine” plants.  The Latin name is “Muehlenbeckia” and the back of the plastic thingy in the pot reads “Small green leaves line wiry, reddish-brown stems.  Vigorous and fast growing with a vining, trailing habit that is perfect for topiary use, or try in containers and beds.  Very adaptable, it can be placed in sun or shade and, although it prefers regular watering, it can tolerate periods of dryness.”  I mean, what more can you ask of a plant?  Every spring I put this in the hanging planter shown above which is just outside my back door.  It only gets three hours or so of sun a day.  It will continue to flourish until we get a hard frost.  And I love the way it looks; the stems do look like thin little pieces of rusty wire which sets off the shiney green leaves perfectly.  And it does have teeny tiny little white flowers….if you look very carefully toward the left side of the plant above, you’ll see the first flower to appear.

Raspberry Sherbet Lilac

Raspberry Sherbet Lilac

The lilacs are just starting to bloom.  I call the one to the right “raspberry sherbet”.  I don’t know the real name but it aptly describes the color.  The white lilac was damaged by the October storm but it does have some blossoms and I hope it will continue to recover over time.  The lavender shades are thriving and smell heavenly.  I’ll have to cut some to bring inside!

Lilac

Lilac

We did have rain yesterday thank goodness!  Everything looks so much greener today…and I swear everything has grown considerably over night.

Hosta

Hosta

This huge blue-green hosta has become gigantic and the veronicastrum growing within the twig obelisk has now reached above the lower supports!

One thought on “New Dawn

  1. roberta4949

    check out my new dawn only had it a few years, yours looks like it is older and really grew out big the canes can get 20 feet which is just too cool, next year I will have to reset them on something else as they grow because i don’t want to prune them back I want it to grow as big as it can get, the other flowers are beautiful too. I ordered my new dawn through hierloom roses on the net. your right it is not found in local nuseries not sure why, I do notice they carry alot of roses that are not going to be around to long so maybe theywant you to have to keep buying them? my new dawn is so cold hardy I never have to protect it. just do not overweater as the leaves will get black spot. my john davis (another I bought through heirloom roses) and my blaze which I bought from a catalog long time ago, I just bought a canadian rose forget exact name something like sunrise rose or something, anyway the flowers on it are pretty tho it is still pretty small right now. my rosa rugosa are performing like a top, they smell wonderful too. just gotta love them roses.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

