The Spring Onions Are Up…and So Are the Chipmunks

Today is April 30, 2013.  A couple of days ago I saw the first chipmunk to have wandered out of hibernation…he was lying in the sun and looked like he was trying to get used to the brightness.  Yesterday I heard that familiar chipmunk squeak when I opened the back door…I heard a rustle in the pachysandra but didn’t see him.

Chipmunk on Garden Fairy Wings

Chipmunk on Garden Fairy Wings

It’s unusual to have such a slow and tentative start to the emergence of the chipmunks.  Usually you’ll see one, and then later that day or the next you’ll see at least a few more.  If you’ve been following my earlier posts, I’ve mentioned that I still have not seen a hummingbird which is unusual at this time of the year.  A weird spring…

Spring Onions by Stone Wall

Spring Onions by Stone Wall

But the spring onions are up, on time, dotting my gardens.  And now is the time to eat as many as you can as they get tough and hard as the spring progresses into summer.  I sprinkle them on my salads and soups, throw some in my stir fry and try to incorporate them in as many recipes as I can.  Even the humble little Bisquick biscuit.

Spring Onion and Sour Cream Bisquick Biscuits

Spring Onion and Sour Cream Bisquick Biscuits

The biscuits shown above were made with 2 cups of Bisquick, 4 tablespoons of melted butter, 1 cup of sour cream and about 1/3 cup of chopped spring onions.  Mix all ingredients well.  I put this batter in large muffin tins (6 muffins).  You can just drop the dough on an ungreased cookie sheet if you like.  Bake at 375 degrees for about 20 minutes or until nicely browned.  Light and delicious.

One thought on “The Spring Onions Are Up…and So Are the Chipmunks

  1. queenofsienna Post author

    Hi! I saw someone searched “chipmunks spring 2013 not seen in ne” and came across my blog. Today is May 18, 2013 and normally the chipmunks would be running all over the place…but they’re not. I’ve seen maybe 3 total (it’s kind of hard to tell one chipmunk from another). So something is really strange this year with the chipmunks. And I still have not seen a hummingbird, so something is up with them as well. I welcome comments on your chipmunk and hummingbird situation…are things normal this year?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

