Pot Pie Calzone

What to have for dinner, ah, that was the question.  I had some milk that was due to expire and I really wanted to use that.  I had some leftover roast chicken, various vegetables and frozen pizza dough.  I had no cheese and no tomato sauce.  How about making a calzone with a creamy chicken and vegetable filling?  Sounded like a plan and I took the dough out of the freezer.

Pizza Dough

Pizza Dough

When the dough had warmed to room temperature and expanded a bit, I spread it out on a greased pizza pan.  Then I melted a teaspoon of butter in a saucepan and added about 1/4 cup chopped onion and one chopped carrot.  I sauteed that for about 5 minutes then added 1/4 cup chopped yellow pepper, two sliced asparagus spears and 1/2 stalk of chopped celery.  I stirred the vegetable medley and added two tablespoons of butter to melt.  Once melted, I added two tablespoons of all purpose flour and stirred that into the vegetable butter mixture for a couple of minutes or so.  Then I added 3/4 cup of milk and stirred until mixture thickened.  You don’t want this white sauce to be thin but if it is really too thick, add a tiny bit more milk.  Season with salt to taste.  I added a dash of cayenne and some thyme as well.  Then I added about a cup of chopped chicken.f 028-35

I carefully spread this mixture over one half of the pizza dough (not to the edges) and folded the other half over on it and sealed the edges.  I made several slits in the dough and lightly greased the top with a bit of olive oil.  The calzone baked in a 425 degree oven for about a half hour or until nice and brown.  Let it cool for 5 to 10 minutes before digging in!f 039-35

Variations could include a can of tuna instead of the chicken, mushrooms or all veggies with no meat or fish.  Even a little cheese could be added to the white sauce.  Maybe even a minced clove or garlic.  I will definitely try this again and keep experimenting!

Oh, this reheats nicely in the microwave for lunch the following day.

Leave a Reply

