Hummingbird Feeder Is Up!

Today is April 18th.  The photo below was taken on April 15th….the actual color was more red than pink.  Notice the chemtrails on the left side; two longer ones toward the top and two shorter ones below them.

Pink Sky in the Morning

Pink Sky in the Morning

The daffodils are popping up through the pachysandra, accompanied by clumps of beautiful blue scilla here, there and everywhere.  The scilla flowers hang face down (see photo below) whereas the blue Glory of the Snow flowers which I have pictured in an earlier post are face up.

Scilla

Scilla

The vinca are leafing up and flowering.  It’s lovely to see the vibrant glossy green leaves and gorgeous little periwinkle blue flowers along the edges of the beds.  If you really take time to look, the yard is resplendent in shades of blue…with Glory of the Snow flowers, scilla and vinca.  These flowers are so small, however, that just looking out the window you might think they are all the same tiny blue spring flower.  It’s when you get up close that you can see the marvelous detail and difference.

Vinca

Vinca

My first violet appeared in the lawn yesterday.  It was white with purple stripes.  I have shades of violet, pure white and these white with purple stripe flowers.  I will not mow the lawn until the violet flowers are pretty much spent as I love the riot of color. By the time I got around to grabbing my camera and heading back outside, the early afternoon sun had moved across the lawn and many more violets had appeared.

Violets

Violets

There are two grey squirrels that liveMr. Blackie Having Breakfast 4-15-13 year round in or close by my yard.  I call one “White Ears” and the other “Raggedy Tail”, names descriptive of obvious physical features.  The little red squirrel is simply called “Red”.  I doubt very much that I’ll ever be able to capture a photo of him as he is quick as lightning. 

And my black squirrel is “Mr. Blackie”.  He is the one with personality and he is the one who comes to my back door for a breakfast peanut or two (or more).

Daffodils

Daffodils

I was watching him hop through the pachysandra this morning on his way to pick up breakfast and I swear he stopped to admire the daffodils!  A true lover of nature, he is.

The ruby throated hummingbird 2013 spring migration map now shows that a hummer was spotted in my area on April 14: http://www.hummingbirds.net/map.html        I have been waiting and watching for them to arrive and now that I know they are appearing in the area, I decided it’s time to put the feeder out.  They will be hungry and tired after their long journey and I want them to find food once they arrive.

Feeder By Rhododendron

Feeder By Rhododendron

HUMMINGBIRD UPDATE:  I didn’t spot the male Ruby Throated Hummingbird until May 20, 2013.  See https://queenofsiennaskitchenjournal.wordpress.com/2013/05/20/looking-out-my-back-door-may-21-2013/ 

You can see the P.J.M. Rhodendron flowers are just starting to open.  And that’s the way it is, April 18, 2013.

Leave a Reply

